AEDC Gives Ultimatum to Presidency, CBN, EFCC, FIRS, FCT, 81 Others to Settle N47m Bills or Face Blackout

The Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has taken a firm stance against 86 government agencies and departments with outstanding electricity bills totaling N47.1 billion.

 In a notice issued on Monday, the AEDC has given these entities 10 days to settle their debts or face disconnection.

Among the entities listed in the notice are the Presidential Villa, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), several federal ministries, including the Ministry of Finance, and state liaison offices in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The AEDC’s notice specifies that the deadline for payment is Wednesday, 28th February 2024. Should the affected entities fail to settle their bills by this date, the AEDC will proceed with disconnecting their electricity supply.

 According to a statement signed by the management, “The Abuja Electricity Distribution PLC is constrained to do this publication with the details of Government, Ministries, Departments and Agencies with long outstanding unpaid bills for services rendered to them through the provision of electricity supply in that our previous attempts to make them honour their obligations have not achieved the desired results.

“The relevant MDAs are hereby given notice that the AEDC shall after the expiration of 10 days from the date of this publication, that is, after Wednesday, 28th February 2024, embark on the disconnection of our services to them until they discharge their obligations to us by paying their debts,” the notice read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *